Day 6

I spent a good portion of the day crocheting a baby blanket for a friend who’s due in a couple weeks and watching a major guilty pleasure show, Switched at Birth (ABC Family show about two non-related teens, one of whom is deaf,  who were switched and given to the wrong parents at birth). I know, I know, “How are you so awesome?” right? I just come by it naturally. You can’t learn that.

Foods for today:

Breakfast: Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free steel cut oats with cinnamon, raisins, almond milk and some slivered, toasted almonds–yum! (D hates regular rolled oats and had never had steel cut. He loved this!)

Lunch: Can of tuna, avocado with salt and pepper, half an apple

Dinner: Chop salad with romaine, chicken, garbanzo beans, olives, roasted red peppers, and balsamic vinaigrette

D and I joined a new community group at our church, and Saturday was our first time meeting. Most people seemed pretty cool, and I think it has potential. A few couples decided to head over to a local pizza place for dinner. We wanted to be friendly and start getting to know people, so we went too. I knew they had salads but was kind of concerned about how everything was prepared. (i.e. chicken cooked with butter) One of the restaurant employees assured me that none of my forbidden foods were involved in the cooking, but I still found myself having some anxiety about whether something would sneak in. I kept thinking, “Soy is in everything. There could be soy in some ingredient,” or, “Crap. That’s a piece of mozzarella!” and “Is some little mistake in the kitchen or lack of knowledge about what is in their food going to negate how careful I’ve been this week?” (just FYI, I never stress about what is in my restaurant food) That was kind of hard, and, honestly, eating out is probably not a good idea while on the Virgin Diet. (exceptions would be restaurants that have specific gluten-free, dairy-free, etc. items)

Internet, we have a cheater in our midst. D is also doing the Virgin Diet. He had a couple beers Friday night not realizing that a.) you can’t have alcohol while doing the Virgin Diet and b.) beer has gluten. The next day when we went to the pizza place he was like, “Well, since I already had beer last night, I may as well have pizza today and then get back on track.” He then proceeded to eat a WHOLE PIZZA! Haha

I realized, I never explained my reasons for doing the Virgin Diet–kind of important, yeah?

  1. I don’t want to be mastered by food. I’m not overweight, and I don’t binge eat or anything. Overall, even before the Virgin Diet, I ate pretty healthy. However, I’m pretty sure my body is addicted to sugar. I love it. Same goes for dairy. I definitely eat emotionally sometimes when I’m mad or bored and turn to food to liven things up. I think it’s definitely okay to enjoy food and have an indulgent dessert every so often, but I don’t want to find myself walking to the fridge while my inner voice is going, “Don’t do it. You don’t need it!” and caving, yet again to what sounds good in the moment. “‘All things are lawful for me,” but not all things are helpful. ‘All things are lawful for me,’ but I will not be dominated by anything.” 1 Cor 6:12
  2. I want to lose 8-10 pounds.
  3. I want to have a baby. Diets like this and the paleo diet have been known to help with fertility. Also, I’d like to be as healthy as possible before and while I’m pregnant.
  4. I want better skin. I’m a couple years away from 30 and still fighting acne. Not cool.

There you have it. Those are the reasons why I’m sacrificing really good food. I love to cook and especially love to bake, so I’m also sacrificing a creative outlet and hobby. I think it will be worth it, especially if it turns out I can cut out one or two items that don’t agree with my body chemistry and have been causing problems.

Leave a Reply

